ECO Educational Institute

17 October 2018

The Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) was established by the Treaty of İzmir signed on 14 September 1996. Turkey, Pakistan and Iran are founding members of the ECO. Current member countries of the ECO are Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Kazakhstan, Republic of Tajikistan, Republic of Turkey, Republic of Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is the observer country.
The Countries, Members of the Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO);
Bearing in mind the indispensable role played by education, mental and physical training in bringing about economic and social progress as well as promoting a better understanding and cultivating stronger and deep rooted ties amongst the people; Fully aware of the importance of intellectual activity, including the exchange of persons active in the field of education as well as the exchange of publications and other materials of information, in enhancing collaboration amongst peoples and nations; Resolved to develop and to increase the means of communication among the peoples of the Region through education and training for promoting mutual understanding and a truer and more perfect knowledge of each other;
Determined to broaden and enlarge the scope of cooperation among ECO countries in the field of education and training along the principles, aims and the spirit of the Treaty of Izmir; In consequence thereof, have decided to create hereby ECO Educational Institute for the purpose of giving fresh impulse to the realization of the objectives of the Treaty of Izmir as well as to the promotion of the common welfare of the people of the Region through ensuring a better education and training.
The founding decision of the ECO Educational Institute in Ankara was taken during the 8th Meeting the ECO Council of Ministers which was held in Almaty on 9 May 1998, (in line with the paragraph on “Special Agencies and Regional Institutions” of the Article 10 of the Treaty of Izmir). The Charter of ECO Educational Institute was opened for signatures of member countries on that date and member countries except for Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. Thus the Institute was founded.